On the hunt for amazing Thai food

One of the greatest pleasures in life, in my opinion, is indulging in really good food.  When I say good food, I mean food that awakens your senses, food that is full of flavour and life, food that makes you “Mmmmm” in satisfaction, gets you excited and wanting to savour every delicious spoon or fork full. When you experience good cuisine, it’s like a drug.   You are always looking to find more and to relive that same feeling.  Once you have tasted good food, you never want to go back.

One of my favourite cuisines is Thai.  It has a bit of everything that I like.  And most importantly, Thai dishes are very savoury and full of different combinations of flavours and ingredients.  On a day off from work I decided to go on the hunt for amazing Thai food.  I had heard great reviews about a restaurant in the East end of Toronto called SukhoThai.   I decided to give it a try to see if it would live up to its raving reviews and boy, am I glad that I did!

Located at Parliament and Dundas St. E, you could easily walk by the restaurant without noticing it. This area is a little sketchy and the restaurant itself is a very small, nondescript

Interior of SukhoThai

place with simple decor (one wall full of personal photos from Thailand).  But don’t let this neighbourhood or basic setting keep you away.  The food is far from simple!  What is lacks in decoration, it makes up for in rich and bold flavoured dishes!  I actually prefer it this way, given the environment was very plain, it made for an even greater surprise when I had my first taste of the food.

Open since 2008, the restaurant came to life after a traveller and local Thai nurse, who also had a great talent for cooking, met and fell in love in Thailand.  The menu offers a short list of Thai dishes with a choice of appetizers, soups, main entrees (noodles or curry dishes) and dessert at reasonable prices.  I ordered the Tom Kha Gai soup (starter size) and the Gaeng Masaman curry dish as a main (see below for photos).  I recommend coming here on a hungry stomach to save room for appetizers and a main dish.   The food was so delightful I wish I had room to devour it all! It was truly love at first bite!!!  In each dish the flavours were incredibly rich and complex, a beautiful blend of flavours.  The different tastes danced in my mouth, moving from one flavour to the next, allowing my taste buds to experience and taste each ingredient with every bite.  It is not often that I am so impressed by the quality and flavour of my meals when I eat out.  I wanted to sit and slowly savour each morsel of food!  The staff at SukhoThai were also very pleasant and friendly.  I even liked the sounds of one of the chefs singing in the kitchen.   This made for a positive visit seeing that the staff seemed to have been having fun and enjoying what they do.

If you are looking for incredible mouth-watering Thai food, you must visit SukhoThai!  I can hardly wait to return and try the other dishes.

Gaeng Masaman: Curry with peanuts, potatoes, onions, shallots, coconut milk and tamarind sauce, served with rice. Presentation looks a little messy as I forgot to take a photo before I started eating.

For more information about their menu, location, reviews, back story, etc. visit their website:  http://www.sukhothaifood.com/index.html.  Note: there is paid street parking available all along Parliament.

This entry was posted in Food, What to do in T.O. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

