2011 – A Year in Review

‘Tis the time of year when we all look back to reflect upon what has come to pass over the course of the year.  I always find myself thinking, “Where has the time gone and what have I done with it? I can hardly believe it’s the end of the year already!”

Although I have often found myself wondering “What the heck did I do this year?”, I have never really paused to take a moment to fully recount and take stock of my achievements, challenges and new things that happened over the year.

As the year comes to a close, I would like to do things a little differently.  Instead of quickly brushing over all that has come to be during the year, I have decided to take the time to create a list of some accomplishments, new experiences, things I am proud of and perhaps some things I have started and wish to continue.

So here it goes!

–          Physical Health:  This year I have been really good at keeping up with regular exercise, mainly due to my discovery of Zumba!  I also took up some Yoga classes.  This gave me time to unwind from my day and much needed hours of silence.

–          Took some new interest courses like Essential Oil blending and continued with Silversmithing.

–          Grew professionally, successfully managed a department on my own and got a promotion at work

–          Coordinated a work event all on my own

–          Spoke up for my rights at work.  I voiced myself and pressed for what I wanted, which is a challenge for me.  This is something I am hoping to work on personally and continue in the New Year.

–          Volunteered at TIFF for first time.  Awesome experience!  I hope to do it again next year.

–          Took a much needed solo trip to Sedona, Arizona for personal time and reflection

–          Experienced the historic Fenway Park in Boston

–          Rented a car on my own and drove it in a foreign place.  This was a feat for me as I was very nervous to drive a car which was not mine, on roads I have never traveled on, armed with a map all on my own.  This may sound silly, but I was pretty proud!

–          Tried many delicious new restaurants in Toronto

–          Spent more time exploring Toronto and checking off places I have wanted to go to

–          Did more things on my own.  Lesson I have learned:  If you want to do something, just do it!  If you wait for others you may never get there.

–          Started a blog, started journaling experiences and trips (which I hope to make a conscious effort in continuing)

–          Strengthened friendships and relationships

–          Volunteered at the North York General Hospital Human Race

–          Navigated TTC all on my own! Small accomplishment for me, as someone who is used to driving and commuting by car.

–          Went snorkelling in a great barrier reef

–          Swam with Stingrays

Upon making a list, you realize just how much you achieved and what came to be.  Maybe we should do this at the end of every year, a mini inventory and snapshot of life in the last 365 days.  I bet you would be surprised at just how much happened and be proud of your successes.  Sometimes we tend to be our worst critics, downplaying our successes and thinking about what we didn’t do versus what we did do.

May this New Year bring you success, happiness, positive change and new beginnings.  May you conquer fears and see your dreams come true.

All the best!

Talia

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 – A Year in Review

  1. Your #1 fan in the Arctic says:

    Great blog and I love your photos. I’m proud of all your accomplishments this year and hope that 2012 is even better!

  2. Nadja says:

    Certainly an encouraging and positive outlook! Congrats on a great year!

Leave a Reply

