Foodie Lovers Weekend

Good food is good for the soul.  It just makes me so happy!  This past weekend I definitely indulged in a variety of delicious fare.

Here’s a little tour of the yummy eats that made their way to my happy taste buds:

Sukho Thai:

I have blogged about this restaurant before, but I just have to mention it again.  This is one of the best Thai restaurants that I have ever been to.  They are masters of flavour.  This time I could hardly wait to try some new dishes.  I was so excited to go back for more that I went twice in one weekend!

This time I tried the….

Sukhothai Pad Thai with shrimp

and the…

Khao Soi with chicken (words cannot express just how gooood this dish is!)

After trying 3 different dishes, I have to say that their curry dishes are definitely the standout items on their menu.  They are very rich and full of deep flavours, every spoonful is savoured! I can’t handle anything too spicy & I was happy to learn that they can tailor the dishes according to your preferences.  Even though I always order mild spice, the food is just as appetizing!  So far my favourite dishes are the Khao Soi with chicken & the Gaeng Masaman curry.

PS.  If you’re wondering why I am wearing a lei, I happened to visit on the Thai New Year (April 13th) & got “lei-d” 🙂

St. Lawrence Market:

St. Lawrence Market  is a great landmark of the Toronto.  Every now & then I go to get my fix!  The market has been around since the early 1800’s! With 2 levels of pure deliciousness, you can find a large variety of merchants and vendors selling fresh seafood, cheese (love the boconccini!), meats, pastries (so many yummy ones!), fresh bread, clothing, kitchen supplies, jewelry and more!  Stay for lunch & grab a peameal bacon sandwich from Carousel Bakery or a fish & chips from Buster’s Sea Cove.  Of course I usually walk away with a lot of different goodies, but I always come back for more Montreal style bagels, my favourite kind of bagel, from Carousel Bakery (try to get there before 12pm or you run the risk of them selling out) and honey from Honey World .  They have a large variety of different kinds of honey from Europe, Ontario & New Zealand.  The great part is that you can sample the different flavours of honey.  They have some interesting choices such as Alemany Rosemary honey from Spain (which is one of my favourites!) & pure New Zealand honey, a new favourite of mine! Each have their own unique flavours, tones & consistency.

Interior of St. Lawrence Market

Self serve bars

Carousel Bakery – don’t leave without buying the Montreal bagels!

Honey World! Sample while you’re there to find your favourite honey!

PS.  For fruits & veggies check out the produce market across the street from St. Lawrence Market

G for Gelato & Espresso Bar:

The best gelato I have tried in awhile!  New in town, it’s definitely worth a visit when you’re in the St. Lawrence Market area.  This was my first time here & I was pretty impressed.  I tried the hazelnut & mango gelato & I must say that they were really good!  Very smooth, creamy & most importantly they tasted like they came from real ingredients….none of that artificial stuff!  I am looking forward to returning to try more flavours, their gelato ice cream bars & ice cream sandwiches (the only place you’ll find this in the city according to the staff) & artisanal pizzas.

Bon Appetit!!

This entry was posted in Food, What to do in T.O. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Foodie Lovers Weekend

  1. Oster's Mom says:

    That gelato looks AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

