Some exciting news….!

I have some exciting news to share!  Since the beginning of this year, I have been writing guests posts on The Hip & Urban Girl’s Guide (HUG), a Toronto based lifestyle website for the busy city girl.  HUG covers food, travel, life advice, style and unique finds.  At the beginning of October I received some sweet news – I have been made an official HUG contributor and team member!  This means more frequent writing assignments and covering some pretty cool events and sampling menus from new restaurants!

Here are some of my most recent assignments with HUG:

Restaurant Review: Sazerac Gastro Lounge, Toronto

Named after a New Orleans cocktail from the 1850’s, Sazerac incorporates molecular gastronomy in all of its dishes.   Sazerac’s chef experiments with combinations of flavours and textures, all while using ingredients from local farms within a 100km radius.  I sampled some pretty unique eats here!  Read my review for more on my dining experience.

Theatre Review:  Sister Act, A Diving Musical Comedy, Toronto

Broadway’s hit musical comedy, Sister Act, is now lighting up the stage in Toronto at Ed Mirvish Theatre. I had the pleasure of attending the show on its opening night in Toronto.  Based on the 1992 film comedy and set in the 70’s, Sister Act follows the story of Deloris Van Cartier (aka Sister Mary Clarence) a sassy, self-righteous lounge singer whose life is in danger after witnessing a crime which forces her into witness protection.  Sister Act was hilarious! I had a lot of fun at the show, I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something light, funny and easy to follow. Real nuns were in the audience on opening night…I wonder what they thought of the show?! 🙂  You can find my full review on HUG.

Event Coverage:  Boobyball 2012 – Rethink Breast Cancer’s annual fundraising gala, Toronto

On October 12th, I had The hottest ticket in Toronto last Friday was definitely Boobyball.  Initiated in 2002, Boobyball raises money and awareness for Rethink Breast Cancer, an innovative Canadian charity geared towards women under 40. They aim to educate and bring awareness to young women about breast health and to meet the unique needs of young women living with breast cancer. The guest list brings together Toronto’s young professionals, philanthropists, media and celebrities.  Check out my full event coverage for more info & pics!

Next up I will be covering backstage for HUG at the Joe Fresh show at Toronto Fashion Week!

This entry was posted in Events, Food, What to do in T.O. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some exciting news….!

  1. mapackham says:

    That is excellent Talia! Congratulations!! All the best. I am looking forward to reading even more of your adventures and reviews!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Steve says:

    Congratulations! Well deserved!

Leave a Reply

