The day has come…my 2 month adventure has begun!

My trip has begun! After traveling over 24 hours and 3 flights, yesterday I finally arrived at my first stop – Chiang Mai, Thailand. Today was my first full day here, I decided I would spend the day getting acquainted with the city. Armed with a map, grumbling tummy and wide eyed wonder, I set out to explore on foot. Here is a quick little snippet of my first day:

City Streets
Always busy, the streets of Chiang Mai are full with motorbikes, tuk tuks and cars zooming by every which way. Pedestrians make a run for it, dashing across the street and dodging quickly moving motorized objects. Lining the streets are several parked motorbikes, which are a popular mode of transportation with tourists. Motorbikes are available for ren everywhere here. At first I was nervous that I would get lost, but navigating was easier than I expected. With a map and helpful locals, it was very manageable. Also, getting a little lost isn’t too bad. What better way is there to find your way around and familiarizing yourself with your surroundings?

image

image
image

The heart of the city is surrounded by a square shaped moat.
image

Temples
Chiang Mai has several ornate wats, or temples, scattered within the moat. These are all very easily accessible on foot. Within the walls of the temples, it is very common to see monks chanting,  people praying and giving offerings.

image

image
image

image

image

Food
There is absolutely no shortage of yummy options here. The hard part is choosing!  For a more aunthentic experience,  I made an early decision that I would look for food stalls where locals gathered to dine. I also had set my mind to having Khao Soi, one of my favourite Thai dishes (which is also a traditional Chiang Mai.
image

image

image

image

And one of my fave Thai beverages..Thai iced tea with milk!

image

Sunday Street Market
Every Sunday between 4 to midnight, a 1km stretch of road is closed down and vendors set up shop.  Selling handmade goods, clothes, artwork, massages, sunglasses, shoes and street eats, you can spend hours looking around and bargaining with vendors.

image
image
image
image

And you can even find something for the dog…
image

Tomorrow I leave the busy city and head out the countryside to volunteer at an elephant conservation park for one full week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The day has come…my 2 month adventure has begun!

  1. Joyful says:

    Must be great to be off the planes and finally into exploring Chiang Mai and experiencing the culture up close & personal. The pictures are a nice representation. Thanks!!

  2. Fan Forever says:

    Nothing like getting right into it. You are in your element.
    Can’t wait to see pics of the elephants.

  3. Karla says:

    great first post & some wonderful pictures!

  4. Bon voyage! Sounds like you’ve already jumped in with both feet. Have fun with the elephants. Can’t wait to see more stories and pics.

Leave a Reply

