2013 – A Year of Travel in Review

I am still in disbelief at how quickly this year has gone by. As 2013 comes to a close I have started reflecting on where life and the wings of a plane have taken me. It has been a great year of travel.

Here is a photo review of my year:

1I started off 2013 in a big way – by fulfilling a dream to take an extended trip and check off a couple of bucket list items. I packed my bags for a 2 month solo journey to Thailand, Indonesia and Australia.

2I had a magical experience volunteering at Elephant Nature Park in Chiang Mai, Thailand and fell in love with a baby ellie named Navaan.

3I took a cooking class in Chiang Mai and got schooled on how to make delicious Thai dishes…unfortunately I was too distracted by the intoxicating aromas of fresh herbs, spices and fresh coconut cream (and shamelessly wolfing down everything that I made) to really remember the recipes.

DSC08792Learned how to scuba dive, receiving my Open Water Certification in Bali, Indonesia.

P1100312Learned how to forge a ring out of silver in Ubud, Bali.

6Discovered my least favourite and new favourite exotic fruit. The durian (top picture) is the nastiest smelling fruit I have ever had the displeasure of inhaling…and it tastes just as bad as it smells. On the other hand, the mangosteen (bottom picture) is made up of small, juicy, refreshing and sweet little slices of heaven.

P1100577Experienced a Balinese wedding.

P1100692Witnessed the Balinese celebration of Nyepi; a day of boisterous festivities and elaborate parades showing off enormous and intricate handmade floats. The following day is observed with total silence, allowing for self-reflection.

7Explored Ubud’s countryside and basked in its jaw-dropping beauty.

P1100095Made new friends abroad.

8Stayed in a surfer’s beach hut on the bottom of a very steep cliff at Padang-Padang Beach in Bali.

P1100512Watched the most glorious sunset I have every seen at the temple of Tanah Lot, Bali. Its beauty literally brought tears to my eyes.

9Came up close and personal with Australia’s abundant wildlife including…crocs, kangaroos, koalas, Crimson Rosella’s, dingo’s and Fairy Penguins.

10Explored the city of Sydney, Australia on foot.

DSC00952Sailed the Whitsundays.

P1110811Survived seasickness in Australia for the very first time and went scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef.

11Went on epic coastal and rain forest walks and dug my feet into the sand of some fantastic Australian beaches.

IMAG2269_1Walked through the badass Badlands of local Caledon, Ontario.

IMAG1948Hugged Wiarton Willy! ๐Ÿ™‚

13Hiked through Tobermory, Ontario.

12Traveled to New Orleans for the very first time. Walked the streets of the French Quarter, rode the worlds oldest continuously operating street railway system, indulged in copious amounts of oysters and sipped a supremely strong cocktail at the Carousel Bar in the Monteleone Hotel.

14Swam with sea turtles in Mexico (squeal of joy!) and saw a nest of newly hatched baby turtles (double squeal!).

After looking back, it’s now time to look forward. While I do not have any travel plans for 2014, I know more adventures and new experiences are bound to be in store.

P1110285

This entry was posted in Personal Musings, Photography, Tales from My 2 Month Adventure Abroad, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2013 – A Year of Travel in Review

  1. Fan Forever says:

    A truly wonderful year! Wishing you more adventures in 2014.

  2. Amazing! Thank you for the fantastic photos!

  3. Tammy says:

    I love the adventures you’ve had this year! Very inspiring. And that ring you made in Bali is gorgeous! I should have asked you to bring me back one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks Tammy! Your travels and writing always inspire me, so I am happy to hear I was able to give you a bit of inspiration as well ๐Ÿ™‚
      PS> I had a lot of help making that ring!

  4. Daria says:

    Lovely! Wishing you many more travel adventures! Teta D.

  5. Holy cow, what an incredible year! I would love to do something like your 2 months solo but haven’t found the gumption to do it. You are an inspiration (plus, I’m super jealous you got to work with elephants)!

    • Thanks for you kind words & for reading my post Amy! The hardest part about taking my 2 month trip was making the decision to do it & taking steps to make it happen. I had a lot of fear going into it, but once I got on the plane, it all melted away. My experience working with elephants was great experience!

  6. I see you has come to bali….I hope you enjoyed that,,,when you are in my country ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

